Closed for In-Store Shopping for the time being. Contactless pick ups available 12-6 Mon-Sat and Sundays from 12-4 at 871 Westminster Avenue. https://prairieskygeneralstore.com/blogs/prairie-sky-general-store-updates/closed-to-in-store-shopping-for-now

Probably Ruby [Lisa Bird-Wilson]

Probably Ruby [Lisa Bird-Wilson]

Regular price
$29.95
Sale price
$29.95
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price
per 

For readers of Tommy Orange's There There and Terese Marie Mailhot's Heart Berries, Probably Ruby is an audacious, brave and beautiful book about an adopted woman's search for her Indigenous identity.

Relinquished as an infant, Ruby is placed in a foster home and finally adopted by Alice and Mel, a less-than-desirable couple who can't afford to complain too loudly about Ruby's Indigenous roots. But when her new parents' marriage falls apart, Ruby finds herself vulnerable and in compromising situations that lead her to search, in the unlikeliest of places, for her Indigenous identity.

Unabashedly self-destructing on alcohol, drugs and bad relationships, Ruby grapples with the meaning of the legacy left to her. In a series of expanding narratives, Ruby and the people connected to her tell their stories and help flesh out Ruby's history. Seeking understanding of how we come to know who we are, Probably Ruby explores how we find and invent ourselves in ways as peculiar and varied as the experiences of Indigenous adoptees themselves. Ruby's voice, her devastating honesty and tremendous laugh, will not soon be forgotten.

Probably Ruby is a perfectly crafted novel, with effortless, nearly imperceptible shifts in time and perspective, exquisitely chosen detail, natural dialogue and emotional control that results in breathtaking levels of tension and points of revelation.

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Doubleday Canada (Aug. 24 2021)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Hardcover ‏ : ‎ 272 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 038569668X
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-0385696685